研究式研究生課程學術要求
哲學碩士和哲學博士學位涵蓋課堂教學,讓學生為研究論文作好準備。課程教學和研究論文使學生獲取學科專業知識,並同時充分掌握其專業研究範疇。
課程指定入學要求

學生須提交課程作業,參加研究研討會及進行論文研究。學生亦須要提交論文並成功完成論文答辯。所有博士生必須於規定期限內通過資格考試。資格考試可以口頭或書面方式進行,或兩者兼備。個別課程或因應其課程指定要求而有特定的規定。

英語要求

為了保證我們的研究式研究生達到大學列明的英語標準,所有全日制研究式研究新生在第一個學期開始前都必須參加英語口語測驗 – 英語水準評估 (ELPA)。該測驗為非以英語為母語或第一語言的學生進行有效的評估。而未能在測驗中達到4級水平的學生,必須參加LANG 5000基礎英語聆聽和口語課程,以提高他們的英語口語水平。 

除上述要求外,本院的所有一年級研究式研究生亦須另修LANG 5010理學科研究生英語課程,以獲取所需的英語技能,進行科學寫作及演講。相關詳情請按此

 

專業發展課程

專業發展課程旨在培養研究式研究生全面的個人成長和職業發展。所有研究式研究生均必須參加兩項專業發展課程 (PDC),作為課程要求的其中一部分。

 

大學專業發展課程
課程由一系列工作坊和單元組成,主要涵蓋以下主題:

  • 專業操守
  • 溝通技巧
  • 研究能力
  • 創業精神
  • 自我管理
  • 職業發展

學生必須參加3小時的專業行為培訓,並修讀大學指定六個主題中最少12小時的選修活動或工作坊。

 

學科專業發展課程
學生必須參加最少13小時的學科專業工作坊或研討會,藉此獲取專業知識和技能,為職業發展作好準備。相關詳情請按此

研究生助教培訓

研究生助教培訓旨在為研究式研究生為從事與教學相關的工作做好準備。此培訓讓學生於不同情況下獲取相關教學技能。涉及的範疇包括:時間管理、溝通技巧、小組討論技巧、材料或資訊搜集的技術、寫作技巧、批判性思考和組織技能。每月的平均培訓時數為36小時。此外,所有在2019/20年或之後入學的全日制研究式研究生均必須完成PDEV 6800高等教學簡介課程。相關詳情請按此
 

入讀2021/22學年春季及2022/23學年秋季研究生課程
網上理學院入學申請

RPG Academic Requirements
The Master of Philosophy (MPhil) and the Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees involve the completion of coursework in addition to the preparation of research theses. The coursework and thesis components provide students with both generalist knowledge of their subject discipline and mastery of their specialized research areas.
Program Specific Requirement

Students are expected to undertake coursework, attend research seminars and conduct thesis research. Submission and successful defense of a thesis is required. All PhD students are also required to pass a qualifying examination within a stipulated period. The qualifying examination may be conducted through the oral or written mode, or both. Individual programs may have their own stipulations concerning the program specific requirements.

English Language Requirement

In order to ensure our research postgraduate students meet the University’s English language standard, all new full-time research postgraduate students are required to take a spoken English test, the English Language Proficiency Assessment (ELPA) before the start of their first term of study. The test provides a useful assessment on the spoken English ability of those students whose mother tongue or first language is not English. Students who fail to attain Level 4 in the test are required to take an English language course LANG 5000 Foundation in Listening and Speaking in order to improve their spoken English.

Apart from the above requirements, all year one research postgraduate students in our School are also required to take another English language course LANG 5010 Postgraduate English for Science Studies in order to acquire necessary English skills on scientific writing and presentations. Please click here for more details.

 

Professional Development Course

To develop our research postgraduate students all-round capabilities and to enhance their personal growth and career development, all research postgraduate students are required to take two Professional Development Courses (PDCs) as part of their program requirements.

 

University-level Professional Development Course

The university-level professional development course is composed of a series of workshops and the modules cover the following themes:

  • Professional Conduct 
  • Communication Skills 
  • Research Competency 
  • Entrepreneurship 
  • Self-Management 
  • Career Development 

Students are required to attend 3 hours of training on Professional Conduct; and a minimum of 12 hours of elective activities/ workshops at University level under the six designated themes. 

 

Discipline-specific Professional Development Course

Students are also required to attend at least 13 hours of discipline-specific workshops/ seminars to equip themselves with the knowledge and skills required for development of their professional career. Please click here for more details.

Training for Graduate Teaching Assistants

The training aims to help prepare our research postgraduate students for teaching-related work they need to undertake. It helps students be exposed to varied situations where they can acquire and improve transferable skills, which will be useful to them in the long term. The range of skills involved includes time management, communication skills, group discussion techniques, techniques for conducting materials or information search, writing skills, critical thinking skills and organizational skills. The assignments are limited to 36 effective hours per month on average. Besides, all full-time research postgraduate students admitted in 2019/20 and thereafter are required to complete PDEV 6800 Introduction to Teaching and Learning in Higher Education. Please click here for more details.

Postgraduate Admissions for 2021/22 Spring Term and 2022/23 Fall Term intakes
Apply now online to the School of Science at HKUST