国际科研课程

国际科研课程是一个专为将来有志从事科研工作,想及早在本科阶段接触研究的学生而设的专修选择。国际科研课程着重培养学生的好奇心和毅力,此乃成为杰出科研人员不可或缺的重要特质。此课程以理学课程为基础,加强学生专门的学术知识,并提早培养学生的研究能力。

 

国际科研课程有着与理学A组及B组课程相似的课程架构,但有别于一般理学课程,国际科研课程的学生可以:

  • 自由选择入读六个主修课程:生物化学及细胞生物学、生物科技、化学、数学、海洋科学与技术及物理

  • 参与量身定制的团队建设活动和实地考察

  • 在杰出的教授指导下参与先进的科研项目

  • 获得与诺贝尔得奖者及世界各地著名科学家交流的机会

  • 参与个人化研究指导及学习启导

  • 获保证参加本科生研究计划(UROP)

  • 获保证在海外交流的机会

    • 在海外顶尖大学或国家级实验室参与暑期研究实习工作

    • 获得奖学金资助海外学习费用

 

参加「大学联合招生办法」的申请人除可申请直接入读国际科研课程外,亦可先入读理学A组或B组课程,并于完成第一年课程后申请转读国际科研。而持国际资格或其他资格的申请人在递交入学申请时,可将国际科研课程放入申请志愿中,并根据自己兴趣选择理学A组或B组课程作为调剂志愿(Alternative Choice)。

 

就业前景:

国际科研学生于大学教育早期便在国际科学研究环境中培养研究能力,因此日后将更胜任研究工作。国际科研课程为杰出的学生提供额外资源,训练学生科研技巧,并强化相关科学领域的知识。大部份学生于毕业后到世界各地知名大学修读研究生课程。

入读2022/23年本科生课程
网上理学院入学申请

International Research Enrichment (IRE) Program

The International Research Enrichment (IRE) program is designed for students interested in pursuing a research career in science, or broadening their exposure to research during their undergraduate studies. It emphasizes curiosity and grit, which are the essential attributes to a successful career in scientific research. Building upon the premise that exposure to international research environments at an early stage is essential to a fruitful research career, the program offers outstanding science students an early opportunity to nurture their research abilities and solidify their discipline-specific knowledge in regular Science programs.

 

The IRE program has the very similar curriculum structure as the Science (Group A) and Science (Group B) programs have. The IRE program further distinguishes itself from the regular science program by providing students the following:

 

Program Highlights:

  • Free choice of major programs among Biochemistry and Cell Biology, Biotechnology, Chemistry, Mathematics, Ocean Science and Technology and Physics
  • Tailor-made team building activities and field trips
  • Participation in advanced research projects under the supervision of world-class professors
  • Opportunities to meet with Nobel Laureates and renowned scientists
  • Individualized Research Guidance and Mentoring from experienced Faculty
  • Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP)
  • Exchange opportunities in a renowned foreign university

          - Summer research internship opportunities in foreign universities and institutions

          - Scholarship support for overseas learning trips

 

Career Prospects:

Building upon the premise that exposure to international research environments at an early stage is essential to a fruitful research career, the program offers outstanding science students an early opportunity to nurture their research abilities and solidify their discipline-specific knowledge in regular Science programs. Most of the graduates will pursue further studies in renowned universities around the world.

 

For JUPAS applicants, students can apply for the IRE program through the direct choice, or apply for a program transfer from the regular Science (Group A) program or Science (Group B) program after their first year of study. For non-JUPAS applicants, students interested in the IRE program are encouraged to put IRE program as their first choice, with either one Science (Group A) program or Science (Group B) as the alternative choice.

SciNet is an online platform linking students and alumni of International Research Enrichment (IRE) and research postgraduate (RPg) programs together, for research support and knowledge exchanges.

Undergraduate Admissions for 2021 Intake
Apply now online to the School of Science at HKUST