數學與經濟學課程

數學與經濟學課程是理學院和商學院合辦的課程。課程講授數學及經濟兩學科的基礎理論知識,著重訓練學生的計量推理能力和概念理解力,使學生能以數學、經濟及社會科學術語作有效溝通。此跨學科課程尤為適合有志從事計量財務工作,或計劃在應用數學及不同商學領域(如經濟學、運籌學、管理學等)繼續深造的學生。

 

近年日益複雜的技術型經濟問題,促進了數學和經濟學此兩學科之間的協同。課程提供的一系列高階數學和經濟科目,將為學生在經濟、管理及財務等領域提供充分的計量背景,為日後投身財經業或在研究院深造作良好準備。

 

參加「大學聯合招生辦法」 的申請人除可申請直接入讀數學與經濟學課程(JS5813)外,亦可先入讀理學A組(JS5102)或任何商學院的課程,並於完成第一年課程後申請轉讀數學與經濟學。而持國際資格或其他資格的申請人在遞交入學申請時,可將數學與經濟學課程放入申請志願中,並根據自己興趣選擇理學A組或工商管理課程作為調劑志願(Alternative Choice)

 

就業前景:
銀行及金融業對能應用數學工具作金經及經濟分析的人才一直十分渴求,而主修數學及經濟的同學正好具備相關知識及專長,故於本地財金界的就業前景良好。畢業生擁有綜合和應用數學與經濟學的知識和能力,在金融行業有非常大的就業及發展空間。近年不少畢業生均獲一級金融機構及跨國企業受聘,如美國銀行、摩根資產管理及畢馬威。課程同時為有志於在經濟學、金融數學、統計學及其他商學等範疇繼續深造的學生打下良好的基礎。不少畢業生均獲牛津大學、史丹福大學及耶魯大學等著名大學取錄,繼續升讀碩士及博士課程。

入讀2022/23年本科生課程
網上理學院入學申請

Mathematics and Economics (MAEC) Program

The Mathematics and Economics (MAEC) program is jointly offered by the School of Science and the School of Business and Management of HKUST. The program provides students with solid training in the fundamental theories of both mathematics and economics. The curriculum equips students with quantitative reasoning skills, conceptual understanding and the ability to effectively communicate in mathematics and in the language of economics and social sciences. This interdisciplinary degree is suited to students who seek the option of taking a quantitatively oriented job in the finance industry or who intend to pursue postgraduate study in applied mathematics, economics, business or related areas such as operations research or management science.

 

The complexity and technical aspects of contemporary economic problems exhibit strong synergy between mathematics and economics. The program offers an advantage to students who would otherwise major in mathematics or economics alone. We aim to provide sequences of advanced mathematics and economics courses that equip students with a strong quantitative background in economics and related areas in management and finance, thus preparing them for a successful career in the banking and finance industry or further studies in graduate school.

 

For JUPAS applicants, students can apply for the MAEC program through the direct choice, or apply for program transfer from the regular Science (Group A) program of the School of Science or any Business School programs of the School of Business and Management after their first year of study. For non-JUPAS applicants, students interested in MAEC program are encouraged to put MAEC program as the first choice, with either Science (Group A) program or Business and Management program as the alternative choice.

 

Career Prospects:
Career opportunities in the banking and finance industry in Hong Kong are promising for those who are capable of applying mathematical tools to understand the financial markets and make economic forecasts. Graduates with an interdisciplinary degree are increasingly valued and needed in the job market, and tend to have more diverse career options than those majoring in Mathematics or Economics alone. A number of MAEC alumni have joined top-ranked financial institutions and multinational firms. Our MAEC graduates are equipped with sufficient backgrounds for entry into advanced/professional degree programs in economics, financial mathematics, statistics, and other business-related fields. Recent graduates have been admitted into PhD/Master's programs at leading universities in the world.

Undergraduate Admissions for 2022 Intake
Apply now online to the School of Science at HKUST